(651) 503-6789 or (651) 248-0028

Flag Card is Unique

This is taken from our page of instructions with some additional explanation:

The FLAG card is a card with a twist.  It can be utilized as an IDENTICAL card or a WILD card.  *The FLAG card is the ONLY card that can be changed back and forth (from a Red Book to a Black Book) within the SAME TABLE GROUP at any time PRIOR to closing the book.  (This means a player has an option to call the book a black or a red book upon closing the book.  A PLAYER CANNOT PICK UP THE FLAG CARD AND PLAY IT IN A DIFFERENT GROUP OF CARDS.)  Our game adheres to the old adage that “a card laid is a card played”.

The option of making it a red (natural) book has to do with this; a player plays the FLAG card with 2 cards to help make a meld.  As the play continues the player ends up with 4 more of the natural cards that were played with the FLAG card.  At that point all 6 natural cards are played with the FLAG which makes the book RED or NATURAL.

The option of making the book a black book is usually when a player needs a black book to go out and has no hope of getting more of the natural card but has wild cards the player can play 2 more wild cards in the group, call the FLAG card a wild card along with 2 other wild cards and 4 natural cards and fold it up as a black book.

A Directions Question/Answer

The following question was asked of us recently:

It’s not clear, when at the start of the game, if we are supposed to turn up 1 card, 3 cards, or no cards onto the discard pile?

If you have had the same question or similar, this is the answer:

Your question is a good one, I confess that it is one that we didn’t discuss after going over the game’s directions many times and making revisions when we thought something needed to be better defined!
The answer to your question is that you turn over “none” to begin. The first card that is shown face up is the first player’s discard.

Flag Card Correct Play

Our Flag Card IS unique, folks, but wait a minute.  As our directions state  (partial copy above)  it can be changed back and forth “within the same table group” at any time PRIOR to closing the book.  At the time of closing the player declares the book to be either “red” or “black”. This means the card stays in the place as originally played.  It is not to be picked up from where it was played and moved to another set of cards.  Like is often said, “a card laid is a card played” and that applies in this case as well!

Facebook
Facebook